• Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorbartley
    • CommentTimeDec 1st 2007
    My last topic was on film composing advice, resulting in some great thoughts.
    I have another question for anyone who is has advice:
    I am a high-school student with a few years to go. I currently play piano, organ, and
    occasional trumpet. I compose mainly for fun, and not too often, but I do do alot of
    improvision.
    What would you suggest I do prior to going to college for a film scoring major?
    •  
      CommentAuthorDemetris
    • CommentTimeDec 1st 2007 edited
    Study morphology and harmony, preferably with a teacher.
    Study fugue and instrumentation, again preferably with a teacher if you can afford one.
    At least. And make sure you practice a lot through several exercises that you'll get corrected afterwards, on all subjects.

Get yourself accustomed to various listens, all kinds of music, well-known stuff from each genre. Listen well. And get to listen to every piece of film music you can get, study it a bit, its morphology, compositional techniques, the instrumentation, style and all. And watch as many movies as possible, notice the usage of the music in them. Don't underestimate the power of these latter things, in contrast to the books. Everything has its own specific role and beneficiary usage for you.
    Love Maintitles. It's full of Wanders.
    •  
      CommentAuthorbartley
    If you find these thread bothersome please say so... I feel like I am asking alot of things.
    •  
      CommentAuthorbartley
    Christodoulides wrote
    Study morphology and harmony, preferably with a teacher.
    Study fugue and instrumentation, again preferably with a teacher if you can afford one.
    At least. And make sure you practice a lot through several exercises that you'll get corrected afterwards, on all subjects.