• Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorSouthall
    • CommentTimeSep 5th 2009 edited
    I thought I'd allow myself a topic which I can update when I post new reviews.

I've been doing a lot of thinking about Movie Wave lately and whether I should bother carrying on. There are three key things telling me I shouldn't:

I've been doing it for twelve years now - a hell of a long time for someone who isn't musical to write about music. And it's becoming increasingly obvious now that really, there is a very limited range of things I can say about scores; and by constantly repeating myself, I'm just doing the very thing that I accuse various lesser film composers of doing.

The music's got worse, or at least, it's not what I want it to be any more. When I got into film music, I could look forward in a single year to five new scores from Goldsmith, two or three from Williams, two or three from Bernstein, two or three from Barry, five or more from Morricone. These days only the occasional dipping of the feet from Williams or Morricone is left. Even though there are a few composers whose works I greatly enjoy - none of them makes me excited any more. I can't remember the last time I waited for something so eagerly as I used to back in those days - when every couple of weeks there'd be a new score from a genuine master to enjoy. Not all of them were great - some were far from it - but some of them WERE great. Nothing any more gives me the special feeling I got the first time I listened to Far From Heaven or Mission to Mars or AI or First Knight.