• Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

1. Edmund Meinerts wrote
    Google Translate is pretty good these days. DeepL is even better. I'm a translator and I'm pretty sure 90% of the industry will be automated out of existence in the next 20 years.

An acquaintance of mine is working as a translator for Russian and English. She tells me, that the rough translations is already done by software. She then corrects the errors and provides the stylistic polish.
    Bach's music is vibrant and inspired.
  2. I was thinking about our conversation in the other thread about what scores really put composers on the "map" so-to-speak in terms of cultural significance, gaining film score fans or popularity.

I was wondering about Alan Silvestri, and thinking that probably most fans came through Back To The Future.

Then there was the subgroup (like myself) who discovered him through Forrest Gump in the 90s, then I backtracked to his earlier scores. (And of course have loved his work ever since.)

But there seems to be a big gap from then until now because today with the younger generation (I have friends with junior high boys) it's all about The Avengers. But I try to tell them, oh the wealth of music they are missing, by not caring about Silvestri's other scores! But I'm certainly impressed by Silvestri's consistency in remaining relevant/iconic culturally and gaining new fans throughout the years. It's certainly not that way for every composer!

Thoughts?
    •  
      CommentAuthorThor
    • CommentTimeApr 16th 2020
    Yes, that's how it goes. Same with Zimmer too. I remember THE ROCK was all the rage in the 90s, recruiting film score fans left and right. When I talk to young people these days, however (I often hold film music lectures for kids in high school), INCEPTION is the big deal and they haven't even heard of THE ROCK.