• Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

1. To be honest, I was inspired to start this topic in the discussion that happened in the Now Playing thread.

There is a huge surge of self-taught composers, with the biggest breakthrough being the appearance of Hans Zimmer and Danny Elfman on the landscape back in the 1980s. The interesting bit is that both started from a similar place (pop/rock stardom in the 1980s) and went into film music because they really dreamt of it (in the first case through Ennio Morricone, in the other one - through Bernard Herrmann). It really kickstarted in late 1990s/early 2000s when people stating their pride in NOT knowing notation (Clint Mansell comes to mind) started to appear and make their impact.

The bit that may be controversial is that the genre is defined by an untrained composer, saying that he's a better film composer because of his lack of musical education (the idea being that the notes come from his heart and reaction to the movie rather than training which may go beyond the film's core, I'll make a point about it a bit later in this post). Also the popularity of his writing, the PR he performs even if he admittedly hates it as he publicly stated about a month ago (my own experience with his PR is, to say the least, interesting, but that's I think something I should leave for myself). The obvious thing to start with is that film music has changed. I'll try to begin with my own opinion on the matter.