• Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorsdtom
    • CommentTimeJul 29th 2008
    I commented at length at Intrada on this and I am putting the same comment up here.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I still don't agree with this limited edition policy that is used primarily as a device to sell product quickly. I've seen it with cabbage patch dolls (people were injured in San Diego over this), baseball cards, and Leica cameras (part of my old business). I remember the days early on in photography when people actually took pictures with Leica's. They now sit in humid controlled cases! While I am far from an expert in business I can see this coming back to haunt them. To the collector right now this is a good thing as the prices are rising. To a hobbyist and a listener it is very bad and discourages new people even getting involved at all. The lifeblood of any business is the newcomer and when your product can't even be sold on a site such as Amazon or you have to get up in the middle of the night to get it something will eventually happen.

From what I understand the download is a pay as you go system. If Movie Score Media can offer a 320 download so can others. We can download it, make a CD'R as a backup and print out the booklet. The collector loses but the listener wins and money doesn't have to be given up front for pressing, printing, and fees to the union/musician.

A word of advice and I again am no expert but this is a fragile economy right now and so far you're a success (at least you appear) in a shaky market. Bottom line is that your product is not necessary to survive. If I shop carefully I can eat very well for a week on $30.00. I can go to the library and check out some very nice music and listen to it for free.