Game of Thrones (Season 4)

Ramin Djawadi

" Season 4 delivers on screen, but not so much on disc ! "

Written by Thomas Glorieux - Review of the regular release

Season 4 was a great ride. Both emotionally and riveting. It focussed on several strong sub stories that went for a climax and it showed once again the strength of the actors involved. Musically however, this season didn't fully wow me. If more the music seamlessly blended with the visuals, creating strong music that focused much more on the scene than on the emotional wow factor it could enhance. And this CD confirms it. The first part is pretty unimpressive. Darker music, angrier (due to the Thenns and wildlings) and less interesting due to the absence of reoccurring themes. Luckily that changes after track 8 when the King's theme suddenly comes out of hiding. Later followed by tracks delivering the main theme, the Castamere theme, the Stark theme and the Daenaris theme. A new sound is created for the wildlings (tracks 6 and 15), delivering what is essentially a horn of doom sound (but angrier). Luckily things close off in style with the vocal version of the main theme in "The Children". But I don't know if this is enough. Season 4 lacks the impressive versions of the themes and perhaps a bit of color. A bit of emotional resonance. That things were pretty dark is an understatement, and somehow this feeling lives on in the music of Djawadi. Again several highlights for the fan of the series, but overall the weakest of the 4 so far.

Luckily themes return, and there are several that make a (vocalized) impression.
Have to say that the vocal versions of the main theme sound heavenly delightful.
The first part is pretty average, the lack of themes and interesting moments kills it for me.
Despite the appearance of themes, the CD is pretty average (aside from its highlights).

Track Listing

1. Main Titles (1.43) Excellent track
2. The Rains of Castamere: Sigur Ros (2.42)
3. Breaker of Chains (4.05)
4. Watchers on the Wall (2.11)
5. I'm Sorry For Today (2.09)
6. Thenns (1.43)
7. Mereen (2.53)
8. First of His Name (3.52)
9. The Biggest Fire The North Has Ever Seen (1.56)
10. Three Eyed Raven (3.58)
11. Two Swords (1.50)
12. Oathkeeper (4.31)
13. You Are No Son of Mine (4.29) Excellent track
14. The North Remembers (2.33)
15. Let's Kill Some Crows (3.37)
16. Craster's Keep (2.06)
17. The Real North (2.03)
18. Forgive Me (2.31)
19. He is Lost (3.37)
20. I Only See What Matters (1.25)
21. Take Charge of Your Life (2.05)
22. The Children (2.41) Excellent track

Total Length: 60.40
(click to rate this score)  
(total of 2 votes - average 2.25/5)

Released by

WaterTower WTM39522 (regular release 2014)