The Umbrella Academy

Jeff Russo

" Violin number 1, violin number 2, violin number ... "

Written by Thomas Glorieux - Review of the regular release

The Umbrella Academy is one of the new hits of Netflix, and a roller-coaster ride of quirky characters, incredible special effects and catchy humor. Music's another integral part of the show's success, whether it are the 80's songs or the music by household Television composer Jeff Russo. He has been attached to numerous TV series by now, and yet he found the time to give The Umbrella Academy it's own distinctive and mesmerizing voice. The album is a mix between the character themes and sounds, and the highlights of the series (well some of them). Quirky characters like Hazel, Cha Cha and Klaus get their brief moments all the while big powerful cues like "The Umbrella Academy" get to stir things up. During these moments it's the violin that sets the pace, the tone, the beauty. In "The Umbrella Academy" we are introduced to the characters all the while Vanya gives us a brief taste of her talents, and it's here that Jeff Russo pinpoints that the violin will place an integral part during the series. The pace during the middle is highly infectious by the way, and made me realize from the very first episode that this score might be something worth checking out.

And even though the bigger cues sell it on screen, the character moments (like Klaus' quirky rhythm, or the too much in love sound of "Hazel and Delores" (which has to be Hazel and Agnes I'm betting) are interesting to discover as well. It gives the album a diverse sound, appetizers for the big pleasers like "Apocalypse". Call it a tour de force of violin performances all the while hell is breaking loose around it. The pieces for the orchestral concert program of Vanya are also powerful, with much emphasis on Vanya's solo performances. And even though this is the thread around the entire album, it also steals the thunder of various other highlights that didn't make the cut (like the opening of episode 10). I also have to mention that a lot of the fights in the episodes contained original songs instead of Russo's music, so don't go bother looking for them here. I enjoyed the series very much, and a part is due to Jeff Russo's music. I would have arranged the album somewhat differently and would have picked various other cues instead. Still a noteworthy TV addition and a score that has much more effect once you see it on screen big and loud.

The violin performances are excellent. Mesmerizing and very powerful as well.
"Apocalypse" is a cue that sells it, especially in the final episode.
I believe several cues could have given the album even more meaning. I seem to miss various highlights.
Near the end, all the emphasis is on the violin performances. It steals the thunder near the end.

Track Listing

1. Russia 1989 (1.22)
2. Sudden Birth (1.36)
3. Hazel and Cha Cha (1.39)
4. The Umbrella Academy (5.18) Excellent track
5. Homecoming (1.51)
6. Klaus (2.22)
7. Hazel and Delores (2.02)
8. Goodbye Delores (1.47)
9. The Day That Wasn't (3.23)
10. Vanya Locked Up (6.10)
11. Vanyas Orchestra (1.48) Excellent track
12. Vanyas Orchestra II (1.12)
13. Apocalypse (6.27) Excellent track
14. Dancing (2.40)
15. Vanya (3.11)

Total Length: 42.48
(click to rate this score)  
(total of 0 votes - average 0/5)

Released by

Lakeshore Records B07N6N8Q23 (regular release 2019)

Conducted by

Jeff Russo

Orchestrations by

Amie Doherty & Samuel Lucas