• Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorplindboe
    • CommentTimeAug 16th 2011
    christopher, great post about Yanni, thank you!

Thanks for the great recommendations. I will listen to the three pieces you linked now and these following days until I get to know them well. I'm surprised you didn't seem to know If I could tell you and The nightingale. I've always been under the impression that the former was Yanni's most famous piece and the latter a fan favourite. But I guess with so many albums, there are many good and popular tracks around.

christopher wrote
    My general impression of Yanni is that he a) looks like captain hook

lol

christopher wrote
    You might be interested to know that Yanni is self taught. I've heard that he doesn't read music, but devised his own system of writing down what he plays that someone else then transribes into music that everyone else can read. Looking at his piano books you can tell that he hasn't been classically trained. His time signatures are some of the most bizzare I've seen, and they change frequently during the middle of a piece.

Somehow I'm not surprised that he isn't classically trained, but it's fun that he has invented his own system of writing down his music.

christopher wrote
    If you're interested, there is a "new age" pianist that I like much more named Jon Schmidt that really isn't very new agey at all. Perhaps I'll post about him in the non-film-score np thread when I have some more time.

Never heard of him. Will look him up on youtube.

Peter smile
    •  
      CommentAuthorplindboe
    muckle_dabuckle wrote