• Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

1. Scribe wrote
    Scribe wrote
    Yes. And you can't give me a single good reason why you shouldn't, that isn't legal red-tape-style BS. Just my opinion. An opinion that will be fully backed up by my actions when I am a successful artist in my field(s).

I would like to clarify that when I wrote this, I was referring to the general concept of unreleased score promos being leaked to the fan community, not saying any particular person like Erik should be leaking anything. I probably didn't make that clear. I still maintain that keeping any film score behind bars does not a single person any good; in fact, it does passive harm to a lot of people whose lives could be further enriched by more good music, and probably lessens the potential buzz around the individual composers whose scores are being kept under wraps. Only uninformed men in suits and those who absorb record company propaganda still think that "file sharing" equates to lost sales. Those of us who love film music and possess money are happy to buy every release we can get our grubby paws on, regardless of whether or not it happened to have been leaked as a promo in the past. Just witness the continuous re-releases by the niche labels of older scores that have already been released multiple times in the past, legally or otherwise. Look at Godzilla. Was the success of that glorious LLLR album harmed by there having been a promo of the score many years earlier? Not at all. If anything, the promo helped the eventual album sales, by keeping the score on people's radars, and letting them know it contained music to be treasured, which is especially important when an unpopular film is involved.