• Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorSteven
    • CommentTimeJan 20th 2013 edited
    Also, I don't agree that my disposition towards atheism is a reflection of what I am more comfortable believing. There have been many occasions where I have actually envied religious beliefs, where I've desperately wanted to be comforted by an irrational belief. But it doesn't happen. I'm a non-theist because it's the default, most reasonable position to take. Any comfort I might get out of "atheism" is just a bonus.
  1. Steven:
    A disbelief in God is quite different to the assumption, which in my case is based on solid reasoning and skepticism, that God doesn't exist (although one does follow from the other). And probabilities matter. They matter greatly! They matter because it's seemingly impossible to assert anything with 100% certainty, except in the abstract world of mathematics (although I'm no expert in the field of epistemology, so I could be wrong?).

Volker:
    My point exately: Certainty is impossible. Therefore we believe. (Not necessarily according to a codified religion, I am not defending Christianity here or any other religion.)

I agree: "choose" is the wrong word. Believing in a given religion can be a gift in many situatons. I felt that envy, too.

A given religion - say Christianity - might be irrational. I am convinced that it is on many levels. We probably agree on that point. That doesn't mean though that dogmatic materialism is a rational conclusion. We seem to agree here, too, although your above statement seems to be in conflict with your initial post.

And yes: Thesis 1 and 2 ARE on equal footing, and no: propabilities do not matter here at all. If we analyse both claims on the basis of words and syntax for their logic values they are obiously equal. And that's the substance of it, everything else is accidental.