• Categories

Vanilla 1.1.4 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

•  
      CommentAuthorDemetris
    • CommentTimeJul 25th 2009 edited
    Setting aside a couple of misplaced or misused words, do you still understand what i am saying? It's not just utilizing a style, those could easily be pieces from a John Williams score, the same way you suggest that Zimmer copied (or whatever other word you might want to use) Mike Oldfield 160bpm and so on.
    Love Maintitles. It's full of Wanders.
    •  
      CommentAuthorErik Woods
    • CommentTimeJul 25th 2009
    Christodoulides wrote

It's like this here, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3mzfnCwOa8k the ubeda bso spirit hymn or whatever it's called. Where's the spirit in that? I am not suggesting writing music is easy and i am a musician too, i know the difficulties first-hand, but staying so close to Williams has always been a safe-route out with the film score fans 'cause you know they will probably not bash you, rather the contrary.

Not the greatest thing I've ever heard but it enjoyable.

And since when is writing in a Williamsesque style SAFE? I'd say that if you can write in that style and do it well then you are ahead of the game.

-Erik-
    host and executive producer of THE CINEMATIC SOUND RADIO PODCAST | www.cinematicsound.net | www.facebook.com/cinematicsound | I HAVE TINNITUS!
    •  
      CommentAuthorDemetris
    Well, evidently it's safe; of all the composers out there, old and forgotten or young and upcoming, Wataru wouldn't be exactly in the first place of interest realistically speaking, if he was - say - writing in the sound of Zimmer or anyone else besides Goldsmith / Williams, would he? I am not saying he isn't good; i am saying i'll turn my head and ears to him when he starts developing a style and persona. I think people are over-doing it with his case, so far.
    Love Maintitles. It's full of Wanders.
    •  
      CommentAuthorErik Woods